“Entertaining the goats.”

entertainmentinchurch

“A time will come when instead of shepherds feeding the sheep, the church will have clowns entertaining the goats.” ~ C.H Spurgeon
These men of old would be turning in their graves if they could see the state the world is in now, especially the professing Church. But they were spot on in their assessments.

When I first became a Christian I asked if there was a good church I could attend. I was told to attend one where the person’s mother was an elder. Taking this as a good recommendation I started to attend.
My first time there was fantastic. They had a band on stage and I was rockin’ out to the music. I said to the elder I was there with (the lady mentioned above) that it was great – “It’s just like being at the pub but without the alcohol and cigarette smoke.”
You see, before I was born again I was into heavy metal music, used to drink and smoke, so I was used to the pub lifestyle, and this church was just like that atmosphere, only without the “sinful” aspect of it. I thought it was great. I could hear a live band without having to pay for it or buy drinks. Wow. I liked it there. I sang along to the songs and even got one of their cd’s.
This should have been a red flag for me, but being a new Christian I didn’t know any different. And neither apparently did anyone else there, including the elders. (You would have thought my comments would have also been a red flag to the elder I was there with.)
I also had a friend at the time burn me some ‘Christian’ music to listen to in the car. It was like the music the band at that church played. (I recently found it and threw it out. Read on to find out why.)

Fast forward around 7 years or so and I just recently I purchased a cd online. I listened to snippets of it and was really disappointed. Most of the songs on there are what people would call “contemporary” Christian music. To me it was just like the first church I attended. One of them even sounded like it was a rock concert.
(The cd of the burnt songs I recently threw out had many of the same songs on it as the one I just purchased. Something just didn’t sit right with me about listening to it. I may have to toss this one as well.)

But it’s worshiping Jesus and has a Christian label slapped on it so it’s ok, right? Not to me. I believe it is basically just appealing to the flesh and has nothing really to do with Jesus at all. This verse comes to mind when I think of this kind of thing – This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.” Matthew 15:18

Whatever happened to reverential worship to God about His unspeakable (indescribable) gift?! What ever happened to being in awe of our amazing Creator?! It seems these churches full of entertainment have a lot to say, but none of it reverential or glorifying to God. It seems that many these days are mocking Him. I won’t mention the recent furor over an extremely popular “church” that had a naked man parading around onstage at a ‘women’s conference’ with just a musical instrument to cover a certain area of his body. Oh wait, I did just mention it didn’t I? Well, there’s my point. From the one blog post I read about it, I was almost traumatised. I need to wash my eyes out and erase that part from my brain. Honestly, how they call that worshiping God is absolutely beyond me. It’s actually quite sickening that they can believe it is edifying themselves and glorifying to God. *vomit*
Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. Galatians 6:7
These people seriously need to repent and change their ways or they will be shocked at the judgment they receive from God!
For there are certain men crept in unawares, who were before of old ordained to this condemnation, ungodly men, turning the grace of our God into lasciviousness, and denying the only Lord God, and our Lord Jesus Christ.” Jude 1:4

I don’t know about you, but I want to worship God the way He directs us to in His word.
God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth. John 4:24
We won’t get it right all the time, but if we follow His word to us, and the leading of God’s Holy Spirit, we can’t go wrong too often. But if we do, the Holy Spirit will lead us back to all truth.

Leave a Reply

