Do you doubt your Salvation?

I’ve just had a bit of a, moment, if you will. You might get a glimpse of how my brain works here.   Careful, it could be dangerous. 😉

“For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:” Ephesians 2:8Lose Salvation

I was thinking about people (professing Christians) being convicted by the Word when they hear it. I was also thinking about people (professing Christians) who do not get convicted by the Word when they hear it.
I was wondering if the latter are actually saved. I was then thinking that it’s so sad that friends I know probably aren’t actually saved*, even if they think they are; there’s a difference in being saved and thinking you are saved.

I then went on to thinking that I often doubt my salvation, and it was then that I realised that I doubt my salvation because I always doubt myself. I doubt myself and my abilities, my Christianity (am I in God’s will and do I want to do God’s will?) etc.
It was then that I realised that it’s not me who saves myself, it’s God who saves me. (Logically I know that, but deep down it’s always been something I haven’t quite been able to fully comprehend. I don’t think I have fully comprehended it yet still, but at least I have a glimpse now, and it’s something I can meditate on.)
I can’t keep doubting my salvation because that means I’m doubting God and His Word, and what Jesus did for me on the cross.

I guess I will always doubt myself and think that I am not good enough for God, or doing enough for God, or a ‘good enough’ Christian, but that’s just my nature, my carnal nature.

What it all boils down to is this; I have to trust in the Lord that I am saved because His word says I am**. I am not perfect, nor will I ever be in this life (a hard thing for anyone to accept, lol), but God is working in me and refining me and I’m sure I’ll keep growing in the Lord and will bear more fruit as the refining continues.

So, if any of you doubt your salvation, look inside yourself (but not in the new agey type of way though) and see if it’s really YOU that you are doubting, because God will never let us down and He promises us eternal life, if we just repent, believe and obey***.

*“Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.” Matthew 7:21

**“And brought them out, and said, Sirs, what must I do to be saved? And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house.” Acts 16:30,31

***“And saying, The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand: repent ye, and believe the gospel.” Mark 1:15
“Though he were a Son, yet learned he obedience by the things which he suffered; And being made perfect, he became the author of eternal salvation unto all them that obey him;” Hebrews 5:8,9

{Just a point of interest here. I included Hebrews 5:8 to show you that even Jesus learned to be obedient. So, if Jesus learnt to be obedient through suffering, we should also, instead of being self willed and rebellious.}

2 thoughts on “Do you doubt your Salvation?

Leave a Reply

