Why don’t professing Christians want to believe the bible?

This started out as a vent on my facebook page, but it seems to be something that many people liked to hear, so I thought I’d turn it into a blog post as well.

Time for a bit of a vent. I hope you don’t mind.

I have come a long way in my walk with the Lord, but I know I’m not finished. I still have a long road to travel, I still have many things to learn and I still have a lot of the bible to read. 

BUT, what I really don’t understand is people who profess to be Christians, go to church etc don’t believe the bible. 
Um, hello, what do you think the bible is there for? It’s not just a book of fairy stories that a few men wrote for fun. 

It is God’s message to us. It is God’s instruction manual if you will for us Christians to live by. 

It’s not a choose your own adventure book where you can change the outcome of the story by choosing a certain page. It’s not a bag of jelly beans where you eat the ones 

Image

you like but chuck out the green ones because you don’t like the colour, or the black ones because you don’t like the taste.
IT IS GOD’S WORD!!!

You can’t make up your own god to suit your desires and beliefs. It just doesn’t work like that.
God is not the one that needs to conform to our sinful wishes, it’s the other way around. We are to conform ourselves to God’s holiness by reading, believing and obeying His Word.

Why do you bother saying you are a Christian if you do not like the bible?? Granted, some of it can be hard to want to obey, but if you love God it shouldn’t be too hard. 
There are many things I’ve read that I don’t like, but the further I go in my journey, the more I understand why God has instituted these commands and set up the order of things the way He has.

If you call yourself a Christian, you need to believe the bible, not just pick and choose for yourself what you want to believe and what you don’t want to believe. 

“All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.” 2 Timothy 3:16

I also wonder if these Christians who don’t want to believe the bible are included in the people God was referring to when He said this: “And for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie: That they all might be damned WHO BELIEVED NOT THE TRUTH, but had pleasure in unrighteousness” 2 Thessalonians 2:12,13 *my emphasis added obviously. 

Going to church (and saying you’re a Christian) makes you no more a Christian than holding a screwdriver makes you a mechanic.

9 thoughts on “Why don’t professing Christians want to believe the bible?

  1. I had this very conversation a week or so ago with a friend who goes to an anglican church, who has become one of their lay ministers and is doing a theology degree.
    I said pretty much word for word what you have said here.

    Be much blessed
    Melanie

  2. I totally agree. I just have to pray and ask the Lord to help me walk in love when I point this out. But it just confuses me how we can pick our certain parts of the bible and then discard the rest of it. Anyways, I’ll be praying for you as you prepare to home-school your children!!

  3. I believe it is a true love that brings correction to error. There is nothing wrong with righteous anger towards sin and error we dont always have blow up but even when the word of God is brought in calm the response is almost always in anger. The problem is not getting angry or hating sin and bringing such things to light, the problem is pride filled hearts that wont take correction and thus label it as hate speach or what ever pc term they come up with. And this all so as to cover up and excuse their own sin. Keep proclaiming the truth but know you will come against many goats. Jesus did and was killed for it and all prophets and all the apostles and all the disciples save John. Blessings to you in Jesus name!

    • Thanks Glen. 🙂
      It’s true, people just don’t want to be convicted of sin. It makes them feel bad, and they don’t want to feel bad. The world has told them that they have to be happy and do what they want, and someone telling them that they probably ought not do something is like rain at their picnic.

Leave a Reply

