Should a Christian lie?

We all know that we shouldn’t lie, but lets face it, most people do. Whether it be a huge whopper or a little white lie, most people do it.
Lets look at a few ‘little white lies’ and some huge big ones, then we’ll see what the bible says about it.

Little White Lies.

“Yes, that shade of lipstick suits you.” Seems harmless enough.
Afterall, you don’t want to hurt your best friends feelings do you? (a)
In response to a question about how you are feeling, even though you’ve had a rough day: “I’m fine thanks.” (b)

They seem harmless enough, but are they really? (There are ways of being honest with someone without hurting their feelings.)

Big Whoppers.
“No, I didn’t cheat on you dear”, knowing full well you did with that attractive blonde from the office. (c)
“Only 3 sleeps til Santa comes kids.” We know that Santa isn’t real, yet some people, even professing Christians, perpetuate the lie of Santa. (d)

Now, lets have a look at what God says about lying about these particular things.

(a) “Nevertheless they did flatter him with their mouth, and they lied unto him with their tongues.” Psalm 78:36
(b) “A lying tongue hateth those that are afflicted by it; and a flattering mouth worketh ruin.” Proverbs 26:28
(c) “A wicked doer giveth heed to false lips; and a liar giveth ear to a naughty tongue.” Proverbs 17:4
(d) “Lie not one to another, seeing that ye have put off the old man with his deeds; And have put on the new man, which is    

Here are some more verses about lying.
“These six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him: A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood.” Proverbs 6:16,17
“He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.” Psalm 101:7
“Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it.” John 8:44

As if that last one wasn’t bad enough, here’s one that should really make you think twice the next time you go to tell a porky. (A porky is short for porky pie, which is another way of saying a lie.)
“But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.” Revelation 21:8

Do not bring your children up on lies about Santa and the Easter Bunny. It tells them that it’s ok to lie because Mum and Dad have lied to them about those particular things.

If you are not yet a Christian and you have been perpetuating these lies, if you do become born again, your children will have less chance of believing you if you’ve lied to them in the past. Why would they believe you if you’ve lied about such important things (important to a child) like Santa or the Tooth Fairy?!  They are all make believe and have no part of a Christian life.

These are only some examples of what we lie about, but there are many more.
Don’t get caught in the cycle of lying, because it will get you nowhere.

It’s time to stop lying and start speaking truth.
“Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day.” Psalm 25:5

2 thoughts on “Should a Christian lie?

  1. This really is an extremely important issue to address. I never want to hurt someone’s feelings about their cooking. My mom, now deceased, was emotionally fragile. She liked to bake and sometimes it wasn’t “perfect”. She would always ask, “is it good?”….if it wasn’t I would lie and say “Yummy”. Even before being saved, I would get that twinge of conscience saying “YOU LIED”. Now I think, would it have been better to have told the truth, that the cookies were yukky and cause my mom to feel a “personal attack”?

    As I’ve “aged” I believe that I can answer this type of situation with wisdom given me from the Lord. “Well, the cookies need a little more sugar, can you do that for the next batch…? I’ll eat these ones, no problem though, (smile)”.

    The “whoppers”….well, lying is lying, no doubt about it. When it affects a person’s spiritual life, you must not do it. Not to yourself, not to others.

    You’ve raised some very black and white issues here Tara, brave indeed. They are needed to be presented to people who are living in “the lie”. The unsaved don’t answer to God in their life. They will do what makes them feel good. I really do hope some unsaved people read your blog, and the Lord would move them to a “spiritual twinge in their conscience”. I pray that those who read your words and Scripture evidence will be moved by the Holy Spirit and be saved. You are sowing some wonderful seeds here sister, keep on, you’re doing a good work because of your faith in Christ. Thank you! God bless you.

    • Aww, thanks Carol. My hope is that people are blessed by what I say and that they can hopefully learn things that preachers aren’t teaching these days for fear of losing members.
      I was convicted of lying a while ago and don’t do it now. I apologised to my children for lying to them about Santa, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy and they were ok about thankfully.
      I used to be the same with my Nanna when I was a young girl about telling little white lies. She would pick out a dress or something for me and I would agree that it was nice, even if I didn’t like it. I didn’t have to fib about liking her cooking though because she was the best cook. lol I really miss her and her cooking. (She hasn’t passed yet, but she’s about 93 and in an old folks home and can’t even really talk or walk anymore. 😦 )
      I have also learnt to be honest now, but in a tactful way, although some people say I’m not very tactful at all and are very blunt. lol
      Thanks again Carol. God Bless you too. xx

Leave a Reply

