My first Christian church experience.

I first started going to church a couple of years ago now. I remember the first time I went.
I made a comment to a lady who is an elder there, and who I also know personally.
I said “It’s just like being at the pub, but without the alcohol and cigarette smoke”.
That should have been my first hint that it was not the best place to be.

We are not supposed to be like the world, we are supposed to be separate.
“Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean [thing]; and I will receive you, And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.” 2 Corinthians 6:17,18

We are not supposed to try to be ‘cool’ like the world and adapt to fit others to get them into church. It’s supposed to be the other way around.
I liken it to a parent who learns the lingo of their children, or starts dressing ‘cooler’ to try to be more acceptable, and fit in with their children. While I think it’s great they want to be able to relate to their children, it’s dangerous because the children will probably lose respect for their parents and take them less seriously.
“But ye [are] a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.” 1 Peter 2:9

If we want people to take us Christians, and more importantly, God, seriously, we need to show them that we live by the bible and set the example of bible believing Christians.
“In all things shewing thyself a pattern of good works: in doctrine shewing uncorruptness, gravity, sincerity.” Titus 2:7

Leave a Reply

