God provides.

“Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;” Ephesians 5:20

I attend meetings every so often with the charity/op shop I volunteer at and they always involve food. They are usually lunches or morning teas, which is lovely. It’s nice to catch up with the other volunteers outside of the shop.

I remember asking once, before we were about to eat, if we were going to say “grace”. I was told that we don’t need to as it wasn’t dinner.
I must admit I got quite annoyed at that. As you can see in the verse above, we are to give thanks to God for ALL things, not just dinner.
I’m not having a go at the people themselves as they are all lovely people, all with a servant’s heart.
Maybe I blame the churches for not teaching the right things at the pulpit, or maybe people should pick up their (non corrupted) bibles a bit more often to see what God would like us to do and to be like. (I admit I need to do that too.)

I try to say a quick prayer of thanks before any meal I eat and I make sure I remember to thank Him for everything He provides for us every day (just in case I forget to do it at the time. lol)

I have been rewarded by Him on so many occasions. The Lord has not only supplied things that I’ve needed, he has also supplied things that I’ve wanted.
For example, a couple of years ago I mentioned on facebook that my bed was really old (It was second-hand when I got it and I had it for about 18 years) and that I’d like a new one.
Not long after that an old friend messaged me and said that her mother in law had one she needed to get rid of. It was near new and had only been used a few times as a spare bed in a spare room. It came with the base, frame and mattress, and even sheets and pillowcases that were all near new. (And my friend and her husband brought it over to me and he even assembled it for me)

The next year, my couch (which was also second-hand when I got it) was starting to tear. Out of the blue, I got a message from that same friend whose sister-in-law had a modular lounge she was going to throw out in the street bulk rubbish collection and would I like it.
You bet I did. It was a bit dirty, but I soon Bisselled it and it was as good as new.

And all these things happened before I started thanking the Lord for all things.

He truly does work in mysterious ways, and He knows the desires of our hearts and our daily needs.  “Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.” Psalm 37:4
All we need to do is be thankful and tell Him so.   🙂

Leave a Reply

