Pride.

“A man’s pride shall bring him low: but honour shall uphold the humble in spirit.” Proverbs 29:23

I see a lot of this on facebook, and also in people I’ve known. It’s a nasty, ugly thing to see and it really puffs people’s egos up and makes them belittle others.
Lets ask ourselves honestly if we’ve ever been prideful. I don’t mean if you child has come home with a glowing report card and you are proud of their hard work to get those good grades, or if you’ve accomplished something yourself that was really hard and you’re glad about it, but I mean the ugly sort that makes you think you are better than others for whatever reasons.
I’m sure I have and I don’t like to admit it. It makes me feel awful that I have looked down on others and thought less of people. It makes me cringe just thinking about it. I don’t want to be like this at all, so this post is just as much for me as it is for others.
It’s not something I’ve really thought about or prayed about before as I’ve never really thought of myself as prideful. I’ve usually always thought of myself as humble and meek, but something brought it to my attention the other day. In fact, I was probably proud of how meek I thought I was.

I’m the type of person who doesn’t like confrontation, so I (generally) avoid it at all cost. It’s not because I don’t like a good debate or anything, but because I’ve never really had the confidence in myself to sustain a debate or argument because I have always gotten tongue-tied and trip over my words. This happened to me last year when I was lambasted by the “Apostle” of the group I was involved in for a couple of years. (see my post on Spiritual Abuse)
This person came out hard at me and basically accused me of lying, so I was really upset and just couldn’t get my words out and I was so embarrassed. I felt humiliated in front of the others who were in the room.
This is the reason I don’t like getting into it with anyone in person. Online is a bit of a different matter. I try to be the same person online as I am in person, but that’s not always the case. I think the anonymity and facelessness of being behind a computer screen makes it that much easier to say what you really feel, although I don’t always. There are so many times when I’ve had to shut my computer down and go and do something else so I didn’t say something nasty or stupid.

Just recently someone posted a link to a false prophet and I said that I though the person was a bit fishy. I expected this person to disagree with me and I explained that we are warned heaps in the bible to watch out for people like this, but he came back with another retort, of course. I then went on to say that he can keep following those false prophets etc but I am going to stick with the Word of God.
Again he came back with something else, but I had ‘unfriended’ him by then as I could see where this was going to go, and I really don’t want to see links to false prophets on my facebook. I have tried to warn him, but he didn’t listen, in fact he told me that when I can equal this persons prophecies, then he’ll happily listen to my comments. So to me, he was saying I don’t know what I’m talking about. Whether or not he meant it like that I don’t know, but that’s how it came across to me.
I’m not sure if this person was too proud to accept that he may be following false prophets/teachers and the like, if he was too proud to accept that a ‘new Christian’ knew something he didn’t, or if it was my pride that wanted to prove him wrong. Was I really doing it out of concern for him or did I just want to be right?!

Anyway, enough about me, it’s time to post some scriptures to show what God says about pride. According to the Blue Letter Bible the word “pride” occurs 49 times and the word “proud” occurs 48 times. I’ll include a few of each.

  • “Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall.” Proverbs 16:18
  • “The fear of the LORD is to hate evil: pride, and arrogancy, and the evil way, and the froward mouth, do I hate.” Proverbs 8:13
  • When pride cometh, then cometh shame: but with the lowly is wisdom.” Proverbs 11:2
  • “Only by pride cometh contention: but with the well advised is wisdom.” Proverbs 13:10
  • “Blessed is that man that maketh the LORD his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.” Psalm 40:4
  • “Though the LORD be high, yet hath he respect unto the lowly: but the proud he knoweth afar off.” Psalm 40:4
  • “For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,” 2 Timothy 3:2
  • “For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness: All these evil things come from within, and defile the man.” Mark 7:22

These are just a few examples of what the bible says about pride. I think it’s pretty clear that God doesn’t like it. There are so many references to it that it was hard to choose.
I’ll now include some scriptures of how God would rather us be.

  • “The meek will he guide in judgment: and the meek will he teach his way.” Psalm 25:9
  • “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14
  • “Finally, be ye all of one mind, having compassion one of another, love as brethren, be pitiful, be courteous:” 1 Peter 3:8
  • “Better it is to be of an humble spirit with the lowly, than to divide the spoil with the proud.” Proverbs 16:19

My hope is that we all seek God on this issue, because it’s a really important one. This is why I say it’s very important *my emphasis added to both verses*:  “Every one that is proud in heart is an ABOMINATION to the LORD: though hand join in hand, he shall not be unpunished.” Proverbs 16:5
If you then go on to read this next verse, you should see what I mean. “But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the ABOMINABLE, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.” Revelation 21:8
Do you see what I mean? Being prideful is an abomination to the Lord and the abominable will be thrown into the lake of fire.

There are plenty more examples, but I think this gets the point across.  We need to humble ourselves and not think too highly of ourselves. It doesn’t benefit anyone if we think we are better than everyone else.
If we are so proud of all we know, we will not be likely to learn new things, which could be disastrous if we are wrong, especially when it comes to things like salvation and how we are saved.
If we are so full of ourselves and teach what we know, we could teach the wrong thing and lead someone down the wrong path. I certainly don’t want to be in that category, which is why I ask people to read my posts prayerfully and see where God leads. If I’m saying the wrong thing, I would like someone to tell me so I can go and check and see if I’ve got it wrong. I don’t want to be found guilty of accidentally leading anyone astray. I put ‘accidentally’ in there because I certainly would not do it deliberately. I have to answer to the Lord in all I say and do, so I want to make sure that I say and do the right things.
If we are not open to hearing that we may be wrong, or if we get offended when someone says we could be wrong, we need to pray about it and ask for His help.
I know I will be.

May God bless you and keep you. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Pride.

  1. ‘Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.’ (Philippians 2:3)

    ‘For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think [of himself] more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.’ (Romans 12:3)

    • Oops. I think the first verse was from NIV. (Sometimes I have to search keywords I remember from my many years of using the NIV. I forgot to switch back to KJV after finding it.) : \

Leave a Reply

