Do you deny Jesus?

I have had quite the journey getting to where I am today in my Christian walk.
To be honest, I don’t feel like I’m the best Christian, and I know I should be better. I fail God so many times in so many ways each and every day.
Thankfully He picks me up, dusts me off and I keep going.
I don’t know if I show the fruits of the Spirit as God is still working in me in that regard. (I hope I show at least some though.) I have come a long way from where I started, but I’m not where I should be yet.
I am constantly learning as I go, as I’m sure many others are also.

But one thing I’ve noticed of late is that a lot of people call themselves “Christian”, yet do not believe the bible. (I am also not seeing the fruits of the Spirit in some of them.)  I’m struggling to understand why they would think the bible is not something they need to read or to believe.
Ok, I do to a certain extent, as some of it can seem harsh or cruel, but to dismiss the bible because of things you don’t understand is just plain silly.
How else do we learn about the character of Jesus, (who was God in the flesh on earth)?
I’m learning that people have made up their own God, their own Jesus to suit themselves and their lifestyles. This is what the bible says about those who have made up their own Jesus.

  • “For if he that cometh preacheth another Jesus, whom we have not preached, or if ye receive another spirit, which ye have not received, or another gospel, which ye have not accepted, ye might well bear with him.” 2 Corinthians 11:4

They don’t want to live as the bible instructs, as it goes against how they want to live.
We are told to pick up our cross daily, not live for ourselves.

  • “Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.” Matthew 16:24

I think the key words there are “deny himself”, meaning deny yourself your pleasures and follow Jesus.
Do you deny yourself your worldly pleasures, or do you live for yourself and what YOU want?
I admit, I still have some worldly pleasures that I indulge myself in, like chocolate, or a nice hot chocolate on a cold night. But as far as other things go, I have given them up. I do not listen to wordly music anymore, I don’t watch much tv anymore, I don’t drink alcohol anymore and I’ve stopped hanging around with people that do all these things.
Why? Because they are not necessary. They are not what I need anymore. Some of those things were a conscious choice and some of those things just happened.
I’ll be honest with you, yes I miss some of the things I no longer do or have, but I try to remember that the reward is far greater in heaven than anything on this earth could possibly give me.

Jesus warned us about denying Him. This is what He said.

  • “But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.” Matthew 10:33

You deny Jesus by not believing in and adhering to the bible, for Jesus is the bible, He is the Word, which is the bible.

  • “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God. John 1:1,2

Please, if you say that you are a Christian, read the bible, believe the bible, for to deny the bible is to deny Jesus.
He said it plain and clear, if you deny Him, then He will deny knowing you, to God in heaven. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be denied. It’s something I don’t even want to think about.

Please think about what you have read and consider it prayerfully.

God Bless.

2 thoughts on “Do you deny Jesus?

  1. And others, sadly, want to pick and choose what parts of the Bible they’ll believe. Some reject Paul and throw out all of his letters to the churches. Others read only the words of Jesus (‘red letter Christians’). If we believe that there is a God who created the universe, then we must believe that He makes the rules. And if He makes the rules, and if He is a just God, then He must make those rules available to us. (Else how could he be righteous in judging us for violating rules that we’d never been made aware of?)

    Our God is powerful enough to ensure that what we need to know has been made available to us. There IS such a book of rules and teaching to guide us in our lives. Some will say that the Bible has errors in it. Well let me say this–we are responsible for what He has given to us. Some people, in persecuted countries, have only word of mouth teaching and (perhaps) a few pages or chapters of the Bible. Obviously, a just God is not going to judge them harshly if they have erred concerning things they didn’t know (or couldn’t know).

    But as for us in the developed world, where we have religious freedom and Bibles abound . . .EVEN IF God failed to completely preserve His Word, we would be judged by what we did have. Certainly God could have given us a library full of books to guide us–but He didn’t. He gave us ONE book–a compilation of 66 smaller books. And in that book are the things that He deemed most important for us to know . . . the things by which we will one day be judged. Did we keep as much of His will as He made known to us?

    There is a warning I would give, to those who would reject the Bible. It concerns the time of the Antichrist:

    ‘And then shall that Wicked be revealed, whom the Lord shall consume with the spirit of his mouth, and shall destroy with the brightness of his coming: [Even him], whose coming is after the working of Satan with all power and signs and lying wonders, And with all deceivableness of unrighteousness in them that perish; BECAUSE THEY RECEIVED NOT THE LOVE OF THE TRUTH, that they might be saved. And for this cause GOD SHALL SEND THEM STRONG DELUSION, that they should believe a lie: That they all might be damned WHO BELIEVED NOT THE TRUTH, but had pleasure in unrighteousness.’ (2 Thess. 2:8-12)

    The way I read it, if you reject the truth, God Himself will send you a powerful delusion and you WILL believe the Antichrist is your messiah. You WILL worship him, you WILL take the Mark of the Beast, and you WILL be damned for all of eternity.

    ‘And ALL that dwell upon the earth shall worship him, whose names are not written in the book of life of the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world.’ (Revelation 13:8)

    And what is that truth that we must not reject?

    ‘Sanctify them through thy truth: THY WORD IS TRUTH.’ (from Jesus’ prayer to the Father, John 17:17)

    • I’ve seen a lot of arguments lately that the OT is not relevant anymore, or that if you choose to abide by the whole bible you have to stone homosexuals, kill children for being disobedient etc. So we get accused of not following the bible like we say they should be. (does that make sense?)
      What they don’t realize is that the OT is a guide to how we should live our lives.
      We are not under the law anymore, but we still need to live as Jesus would have lived if He were in the flesh back in the OT.

Leave a Reply

