Christmas. Is it really Christian?

santaThis is a difficult topic for me to write about as some of my happiest memories as a child are spending time with family at Christmas. Playing cricket in the backyard, my Nanna cooking the yummiest Pumpkin Pie and (accidentally) hearing my Dad wrap up the cricket set he’d bought me. He also made some ‘sleigh tracks’ in the driveway, but to this day, some 30 years later, won’t admit to it. Just the thought that he would do something like that and deny it makes me laugh. I have so many more fond memories but I won’t bore you with them all, I’ll just try to get to the point.

Contrary to popular belief, Christmas is a pagan tradition that pre-dates Jesus. From the research I’ve done, it was a pagan day to worship their Sun god. Many people believe that as long as they bring Jesus into Christmas it’s ok, just like Christians do with Halloween. But there are scriptures telling us not to worship God in the same way the pagans do. “Ye shall utterly destroy all the places, wherein the nations which ye shall possess served their gods, upon the high mountains, and upon the hills, and under every green tree: And ye shall overthrow their altars, and break their pillars, and burn their groves with fire; and ye shall hew down the graven images of their gods, and destroy the names of them out of that place. Ye shall not do so unto the LORD your God.” Deuteronomy 12:2-4

**While I like to use the KJV I’ll show you the same verses from the NKJV, just for a comparison. “And you shall destroy their altars, break their sacred pillars, and burn their wooden images with fire; you shall cut down the carved images of their gods and destroy their names from that place. You shall not worship the LORD your God with such things.” Deut 12:3,4** Most people believe it is Jesus’ birthday, but if you look at the scriptures which talk about His birth, you will see that it probably wasn’t in winter. I am not the best writer and I don’t know all the facts, so I will include some links that can explain it better than I can. The one I’m going to post has 4 videos, but they aren’t very long, under 10 minutes each I think, so It shouldn’t take you more than 40 minutes to watch, but I can tell you, once you start watching you learn so much and don’t want to stop watching.(For some reason I cannot edit the titles of the links below. grr They are called The Origins of Christmas.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14CLNTDiyCY&feature=watch_response_rev     

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbobaiRF19w&feature=watch_response

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDmQVRl7xqg&feature=watch_response

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HmQqyPIjkj4&feature=watch_response

I ask you to think about what you have seen, and if you are a Christian, pray about it and go from there. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

