What is Salvation and why do I need it?

You might be asking yourself, what is Salvation and why do I need it? Well, I hope to answer that with this short but sweet note. I’ll include a clip I posted on my wall for you to watch. It only goes for 15 minutes and includes the scriptures I am going to put here and more. The clip can explain it a lot better than I can. So, grab yourself a cuppa or something, sit down and have a gander at this.

  • Why: “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” Romans 3:23; “He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life: but the wrath of God abideth on him.” John 3:36
  • How: “And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house.” Acts 16:31; That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.” Romans 10:9,10

That’s not it though. There needs to be a genuine desire to turn from your sin to God. {Sin is breaking God’s spiritual laws and can include anything from rage to rape, anger to murder, blasphemy to idolatry, drugs to drunkenness, homosexuality to sex outside of marriage, etc}

  • Repentance: “Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord.”  Acts 3:19; “I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish.” Luke 13:5  {I’d just like to add that the words repent, repentance, repented, repentest, repenteth, repenting and repentings are mentioned in the bible 111 times, 65 in the New Testament which to me says it’s pretty important.}

This clip only goes for 15 minutes and is really good. Please watch it with an open mind and heart.  What must I do to be saved.   
(Please note. I’m not necessarily endorsing the person in this clip, but the message in the clip.)
I have included a prayer in this note which you may say if you feel like you want to turn to God. (But please be aware that just saying this prayer is not an automatic gold ticket into heaven.) Just remember though, it’s not enough just to say a prayer, there needs to be a genuine desire to let Jesus be the King/ruler of your life and you need to be obedient to His word. Repentance is also a vital issue that needs to be undertaken, as you see in the scriptures above.  Also, becoming a Christian does not automatically mean that life will be all roses because it won’t be. It means that you will have someone to guide you, to help you through this maze of life and it will give you hope for what is to come.

Heavenly Father, I know that I have sinned against you and that my sins separate me from you. I am truly sorry. I now want to turn away from my sinful past and turn to you for forgiveness. Please forgive me, and help me avoid sinning again. I believe that your Son, Jesus Christ, died for my sins, that He was raised from the dead, is alive, and hears my prayer. I invite Jesus to become my Saviour and the Lord of my life, to rule and reign in my heart from this day forward. Please send your Holy Spirit to help me obey You and to convict me when I sin. I pledge to grow in grace and knowledge of you. My greatest purpose in life is to follow your example and do Your will for the rest of my life. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.plansalvation

4 thoughts on “What is Salvation and why do I need it?

  1. An interesting side note: the man who used to be my pastor (he has since relocated to another church) told me what the word “repent” was in the original language: rethink. We must be willing to rethink everything: our behavior, motivations, etc. and be willing to change. Thought that might be helpful 🙂

Leave a Reply

